Home / entertainment-news /

La Liga Table 2016 Week 15: Updated Standings Following Friday’s Result

La Liga Table 2016 Week 15: Updated Standings Following Friday’s Result

Granada struck late to rescue a 1-1 draw in their trip to Malaga on Friday evening, where Artem Kravets’ 81st-minute header cancelled out Ignacio Camacho’s breakthrough to seal El Grana’s third draw in five matches.

The Anchovies led for two-thirds of the encounter but paid the price for their complacency and allowed Granada to steal a late result, although the latter remain 19th in the standings and three points from safety while Malaga climbed to eighth.

Friday’s result opened up a rousing round of Week 15 fixtures, which will see Real Madrid attempt to defend their six-point lead against Deportivo La Coruna, while second-placed Barcelona travel to Osasuna.

world news today 2014

Meanwhile, Valencia, currently languishing in the 17th spot, make their way to Real Sociedad hoping to edge away from the bottom three, while third-place Sevilla travel to Celta Vigo in what could be a tricky outing for manager Jorge Sampaoli’s side.

Read on for an updated look at La Liga’s standings following Friday’s draw, complete with a look toward the remainder of an enticing Week 15 schedule.

2016-17 La Liga Standings Position Team P W D L GF GA GD Pts 1 Real Madrid 14 10 4 0 37 12 +25 34 2 Barcelona 14 8 4 2 34 15 +19 28 3 Sevilla 14 8 3 3 25 20 +5 27 4 Atletico Madrid 14 7 4 3 28 11 +17 25 5 Athletic Club 14 7 2 5 20 17 +3 23 6 Villarreal 14 6 5 3 19 10 +9 23 7 Real Sociedad 14 7 2 5 23 19 +4 23 8 Malaga 15 5 6 4 24 22 +2 21 9 Eibar 14 6 3 5 21 19 +2 21 10 Celta Vigo 14 6 3 5 24 26 -2 21 11 Las Palmas 14 5 5 4 25 22 +3 20 12 Espanyol 14 4 7 3 17 17 0 19 13 Alaves 14 4 5 5 14 17 -3 17 14 Real Betis 14 4 3 7 17 28 -11 15 15 Leganes 14 4 2 8 11 25 -14 14 16 Deportivo La Coruna 14 3 4 7 18 24 -6 13 17 Valencia 14 3 3 8 19 26 -7 12 18 Sporting Gijon 14 3 3 8 15 28 -13 12 19 Granada 15 1 6 8 14 31 -17 9 20 Osasuna 14 1 4 9 13 29 -16 7 BBC Sport

Recap

The power balance ran in Malaga’s favour entering Friday’s fixture, with the Anchovies having failed to record a defeat in their last four successive outings, not to mention losing their only home game of the season back in September.

But Granada weren’t without their own show of fervour during the game’s opening phases, even going so far as to take an upper hand in possession and shots on goal as the game reached the 20-minute mark, per WhoScored.com.

It was at this point the clash took a turn in the hosts’ favour, however, and Camacho wrested the result into his own hands by nodding a Roberto Rosales assist home unmarked after 24 minutes.

That breakthrough proved a pivotal juncture in the home side’s bid to take three points, although OptaJose suggested Camacho’s knack for headed goals should have made him a higher priority target in the area:

2016-17 La Liga: Week 15 Fixtures Date Time Home Away Saturday, Dec. 10 12 p.m. GMT/7 a.m. ET Osasuna Barcelona Saturday, Dec. 10 3:15 p.m. GMT/10:15 a.m. ET Real Sociedad Valencia Saturday, Dec. 10 5:30 p.m. GMT/12:30 p.m. ET Las Palmas Leganes Saturday, Dec. 10 7:45 p.m. GMT/2:45 p.m. ET Real Madrid Deportivo La Coruna Sunday, Dec. 11 11 a.m. GMT/6 a.m. ET Eibar Alaves Sunday, Dec. 11 3:15 p.m. GMT/10:15 a.m. ET Celta Vigo Sevilla Sunday, Dec. 11 5:30 p.m. GMT/12:30 p.m. ET Espanyol Sporting Gijon Sunday, Dec. 11 7:45 p.m. GMT/2:45 p.m. ET Real Betis Athletic Club Bilbao Monday, Dec. 12 7:45 p.m. GMT/2:45 p.m. ET Villarreal Atletico Madrid BBC Sport

The pendulum swung in Malaga’s favour from there, and Granada struggled to maintain their charge to their same standard for the remainder of the opening period.

The two teams played off that same script after the restart, too, and it was only with 10 minutes left on the clock that Kravets found space entertainment news article from an Alberto Bueno cross to convert a rare opportunity for the visitors:

86% – Ignacio Camacho has scored 13 out of his 15 goals for @MalagaCF_en in La Liga with the head. Skull pic.twitter.com/YYt3YltBaO

OptaJose (@OptaJose) December 9, 2016

Jeremie Boga came close to setting up a swift second for Kravets, too, but the Dynamo Kiev loanee missed his opportunity. Granada goalkeeper Guillermo Ochoa deserved his share of plaudits as well, following a string of last-gasp saves in the dying minutes.

The result showed promise for Granada, who have now avoided defeat in five of their last seven games, albeit winning just one, while Malaga were left to rue two points gone astray from a meeting that was theirs to lose.

http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2680924-la-liga-table-2016-week-15-updated-standings-following-fridays-result

Related Post

Share this article

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!